Cricket News

Former Sri Lanka seamer Graeme Labrooy is expected to replace Sanath Jayasuriya as Chairman of Cricket selectors, mirrorcricket learns.  Sri Lanka Cricket is likely to make the appointment later this week, in time to finalize the Sri Lanka squad for forthcoming series against Pakistan. Sri Lanka will play two Tests, five ODIs, and three T20 internationals during their tour to UAE.

‘We will make the appointment soon, probably by Saturday,” said a highly placed Sri Lanka Cricket source.

His appointment comes after Jayasuriya-led committee resigned at the end of the disastrous home series against India where Sri Lanka lost all-nine matches in the series (3 Tests, 5 ODIs and a T20I).  Labrooy who is currently employed as an ICC match referee is expected to relieve his duties with the global body to take up the new appointment.

He represented Sri Lanka in 9 Tests and 44 ODIs during 1986-1992. Though the members of the new committee headed by Labrooy are yet to be finalized, SLC may likely to invite Eric Upashantha and Ranjith Madurusighe to be part of the new committee. Both Upashantha and Madurusinghe were part of the selection panel headed by Jayasuriya. Mirrorcricket learns that the SLC has invited former Sri Lanka opener Malinda Warnapura also to join the new committee along with veteran coach and administrator Jayantha Seneviratne.

Sri Lanka team is expected to resume their training on September 19 and the team is expected to leave the shores on September 24, 2017.


Read More →

Cricket – Highlights – Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe Test match at RPICS, Colombo

Posted by ELanka – Community Website portal for "The SriLankan Down Under" on Tuesday, 18 July 2017

Read More →

Sri Lanka will host India for a full cricket tour starting July 26. Sri Lanka will play three Test matches, five ODIs and one T20 match.

The three test matches will be played in Galle, SSC and Pallekele respectively. The ODI series will commence from Dambulla and will move to Pallekele for the second and third matches.  The last two matches will be played at the Premadasa. The one-off T20 will also be played at the R Premadasa ground.

1st Test GICS, Galle 26th – 30th July

2nd Test SSC, Colombo 03rd – 07th Aug

3rd Test PICS, Kandy 12th – 16th Aug

1st ODI RDICS, Dambulla 20th Aug

2nd ODI PICS, Kandy 24th Aug

3rd ODI PICS, Kandy 27th Aug

4th ODI RPICS, Colombo 31st Aug

5th ODI RPICS, Colombo 3rd Sep

 Only T20I RPICS, Colombo -6th Sep

Read More →

Posted by ELanka – Community Website portal for "The SriLankan Down Under" on Sunday, 2 July 2017

Read More →